My experience in the European Geosciences Union General Assembly 2014

Today, I’m blogging from the European Geoscience Union (EGU) General Assembly, in Vienna. It’s my first time participating in Europe’s biggest geoscience conference and, for a debutant like me, it has been a great opportunity for presenting my work to the scientific community and a big challenge. The week has been very intense and useful. I have had the opportunity to meet some of the scientists that I read frequently and very interesting people. So, despite a few moments nervousness on the presentation day, my assessment of the event is overwhelmingly positive.

IMG_20140430_170518

The EGU Assembly has the latest technology: a mobile application to optimize your time; the twitter account @EuroGeosciences and several hash tags (#EGU14) inform us of the latest informations; and the blogroll (where this blog participates) allows us to follow every post related to the Assembly.

It would take a long time to speak about all the sessions that I have attended, but I am briefly going to summarize the more interesting for me. Monday, apart from several presentations of mathematical methods and water quality monitoring strategies, I passed the most part of the day in the “Estuarine processes” session which was, certainly, one of the most interesting for me. Tuesday, I attended to many presentations of “isotope and tracer methods” (future work direction of my thesis) and “coastal and shelf seas”. I also participated in a workshop for young scientists about analysis of environmental data.

IMG_20140429_153655

Very interesting workshop about analysis of environmental data

Wednesday I woke up very early to participate in the course “How to write (and publish) a scientific paper in hydrology” , very useful since I hope to publish in the next months in the open access journal “Hydrology and Earth System Sciences” (you know I love the open access 😉 ). Then I attended a few of presentation of ocean remote sensing and river sediments, and I finished my day with a course about time-series analysis.

Thursday was the day of my posters presentations. Before this moment, I mainly went to the presentations of the session “Physical, chemical, microbial and isotopic processes in groundwater; from soil contamination to shale gas impacts”. It is not a topic related to my thesis but I couldn’t pass the opportunity to know the newest researches about the consequences of  “fracking”. My regular followers know I am very concerned with the importation of this technique in my homeland. At 17.30 it was the time of the presentation. I was a bit nervous because I had to be close to the two posters at the same time, but I divided my time as best I could and I enjoyed a lot presenting my work.

I’ll leave my two posters in the next posts:

  •  A numerical study on the role of cross-shore profile shape on wave runu-up.

         (Session OS2.3: Oceanography at coastal scales. Modelling, coupling and observations)      

Click to go to the post about the poster

Click to go to the post about the poster

  • Trends in turbidity in the fluvial section of a highly turbid macrotidal estuary, the Gironde in SW France, based on continuous in-situ monitoring.

        (Session OS2.4: Advances in Physical Estuarine Processes)

Click to go to the post about the poster

Click to go to the post about the poster

I have whipped through thousands and thousands of posters. I really couldn’t say an exactly number. But, they have opened my mind to new ideas. And this has not finished yet. I leave you because I have to get on to the oral presentations of the main session form me: “Advanced in Physical Estuarine Processes”, so I’m going to finish now.

Despite of the large number of scientific conferences and activities, I have had a lot of time to enjoy the “city of the music”.

Holburg Palace

Holburg Palace

Without a doubt, experiences like this recompense the hard work days and encourage further this stirring job. And this does not end here! I leave to Prague tomorrow! I’m very excited to walk along the edge of the Moldava River and contemplate the Bohemia capital lighted.

See you soon!!!

2 responses to “My experience in the European Geosciences Union General Assembly 2014

  1. Wonderful post however , I was wanting to know if you could
    write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate
    a little bit more. Many thanks!

    • Thanks for your mail. I blogged this post the last day of the conference, so I didn’t have so much time to give a lot of details, I was very busy that day…. If I have time I’ll complete it a little more 😉

Leave a Reply

